Karla Kane’s “King’s Daughters Home for Incurables” leads listeners into an intriguing land of acorns and tea leaves; feminism and fairy tales; pagan pop and pastoral protest songs; whimsical wanderings and sharp observations on the current state of the world. THE DEBUT SOLO ALBUM BY THE CORNER LAUGHERS LEADER is scheduled for release OCT. 6.

It’s a place for chronic worriers, hopeless romantics, Anglophiles, patriarchy smashers and gentle dreamers, where sunny California indie meets melancholy English folk and the redwood meets the oak.

The creation of this enchanting acoustic collection was inspired partly by the tours of England she’s undertaken with her band over the past few years. Themes include anxious thoughts on motherhood and the passing of time, the search for “home,” and a deep desire to summon optimism and hope in a dark world.

Many of the songs were written under the shade of a beloved oak tree in Kane’s California backyard. Armed with a laptop and a single microphone she recorded them, usually in the evening, after her young daughter was tucked into bed.

But the simplicity of the set-up doesn’t mean the album is short on sonic riches. Though it has DIY, backyard-pop roots, the album expands its scope from the micro to the macro level. Woven into to many of the songs are the astonishing nature recordings of Richard Youell, which bring the sounds of the English countryside (buzzing beehives, dawn choruses, rainstorms) alive in harmony with Kane’s music. And though it’s officially a solo album, “King’s Daughters Home For Incurables” includes a number of notable guest appearances from England and beyond, including Kane’s songwriting hero Martin Newell (Cleaners from Venus). The songs are accumulating BBC airplay and critical accolades, with Bitch Media calling one “an anti-lullaby for the Trump era.”

Concerned Corner Laughers fans, take heart. All three of Kane’s fellow band members make cameos here, with husband/bandmate Khoi Huynh taking on co-producer duties as well accompanying her on most songs on a variety of instruments (including on two remakes of Corner Laughers works). Listeners familiar with Kane’s previous catalogue will recognize the clever, literate lyric style, and ethereal melodies and harmonies highlighted in her new, folk-inflected direction.

Everyone, at some point, feels like an “incurable” in search of a home. With Kane’s new album, listeners are invited to share in the mix of beauty and confusion in which we all find ourselves.

King’s Daughters Home for Incurables Track Listing

  1. King’s Daughter’s Home For Incurables
  2. Wishing Tree
  3. Skylarks Of Britain
  4. The Lilac Line
  5. Don’t Hush, Darling
  6. Mother Of The Future
  7. Under The Oak in May
  8. Midsommar
  9. The Weight of Acorns
  10. All Aboard
  11. Grasshopper Clock

Press Quotes:

“Karla Kane possesses a voice that is sweet and innocent yet smart and confident.” —Stephen Schnee, Discussions Magazine

Bouncy, bright and often wistful, the record recalls the old, foggy world of England as well as the sunniest, westernmost reaches of California, and plays like a fantastical children’s book for adults — a collection of clear-eyed allegories with magic glinting at the edges.” — Nick Veronin, Metro Silicon Valley

A clever mix of bright harmonies and slight melancholic nostalgia that adds an emotional depth, which provides her with the proper platform to dole out these wondrous and ear-catching sounds,” — Joshua Pickard, Nooga